Students, Alumni, and Politics

Thomas Davis ('10) is the 2010 recipient of the Young Kihl Prize in Political Science.


Will von Geldern ('11) has been awarded the Katherine Morhman Fellowship to support summer field research in South Africa.


Nidia Bautista ('12) has been awarded a Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship.
Matt Blumenreich ('13) received an internship at Senator John McCain's Arizona office for the summer of 2010.

Matthew Blumenreich


Grinnell College Newspaper Breaks National “Plant-Gate” Scandal

Josh Dorner ’03, Deputy Press Secretary at the Sierra Club, on the Huffington Post


Ben Weyl '07 on 'Trying to Put ‘Popular’ Back in Populism


Previously Featured Students...

  Harry Hopkins, Class of 1912, FDR adviser and New Deal architect, focus of Nick Taylor book.

Neo Morake ’09, Class President, Featured in Des Moines Register
(December 2008)

David White ’90, Named Interim National Director of the Screen Actors Guild
(January 27, 2009)

Eli Zigas ’06 Is Abe Lincoln at Democratic National Convention
(August, 2008)

Alec Schierenbeck ’09 Wins Mitchell, Truman Scholarships
(December, 2008)


Barack Obama Visits Grinnell
(August, 2007)

Greg Thielmann '72, former Director at the State Department's Intelligence Bureau, teaches Wilson “short course”:  Intelligence Assessment:  Iraq and Iran.  (See Frontline 2003 interview.)
(August, 2003)

Sheahan Virgin '08 visits with Candidate Barack Obama
(January 2005)

Eli Zigas, '06 graduate, pushes for democracy in D.C.
Rachel Moskowitz, '06 recipient of Young W. Kihl award, now Teach(ing) for America.
Sara Brady '07 named All American