J. Pablo Silva  

Fall Semester 2011

History 327. Labor in Twentieth-Century Latin America

Home

Syllabus

Week 2: September 5
Week 3: September 12
Week 4: September 19
Week 5: September 26
Week 6: October 3
Week 7: October 10
Week 8: October 24
Week 9: October 31
Week 10: November 7
Week 11: November 14
Week 12: November 21
Week 13: November 28
Week 14: December 5

Required Texts

Research Paper

Grading

 

 

Section 1. Common Readings (weeks 1-7)
Thursday, 25 August
What is the Global Context?
  Bender, "The Transformation of Liberalism."
   
Tuesday, 30 August
What are the Classic Views on Latin American Labor?
  Hall & Spalding, on blackboard.
Bergquist, Intro, on blackboard.
   
Thursday, 1 September
What are the Classic Views on Latin American Labor?
  Skidmore, on blackboard.

Return to Top

Tuesday, 6 September
What are the Classic Views on Chilean Labor?
 

Bergquist, Chile, on blackboard.
DeShazo, "The Valparaíso Maritime Strike."

   
Thursday, 8 September
What are the Classic Views on Chilean Labor?
  Loveman, "Industrial Relations in Chile."

Return to Top

Week 3
Tuesday, 13 September
What are the more recent views?
 

Hutchison, "Anarchism and the Politics of Sexuality."
Klubock,
"Working Class Masculinity."

   
Thursday, 15 September
What are the more recent views?
  Silva, "Party Competition and the Social Question."

Return to Top

Week 4  
Tuesday, 20 September
What are the Classic Views on Argentine Labor?
 

Bergquist.
Korzeniewicz, "Labor Unrest in Argentina, I."

   
Thursday, 22 September
What are the Classic Views on Argentina?
 

James, "October 17th and 18th."

   
Friday, 23 September
Paper Topics are Due.

Return to Top 
Week 5  
Tuesday, 27 September
What are more recent Views?
  Adelman, "Reflections on Argentine Labour."
Adelman, "Political Ruptures and Organized Labor."
   
Thursday, 29 September
What are more recent Views?
  Karush, e-reserve.
Horowitz, e-reserve.

Return to Top

Week 6  
Tuesday, 4 October
How have debates on Brazilian Labor Proceeded?
 

Joel Wolfe, "Anarchist Ideology."
John French, "Practice and Ideology."

Wolfe, "Response."

   
Thursday, 6 October
Have the Debates Changed the Views?
  Bak, "Labor, Community and the Making of an Alliance."

Return to Top

Week 7  
Tuesday, 11 October
What is the Very Big Picture?
  Stern, "Feudalism, Capitalism, and the World System."
Viotti, "Experience versus Structure."
   
Thursday, 13 October
What is the Big Picture?
  Weinstein, "Developing Inequality."

Return to Top

 

Section 2. Research Projects (weeks 8-14)
Week 8  
Tuesday, 25 October
No Class Discussion this Week.
 

We will meet Tuesday to assign presentation dates. Otherwise, work on your Primary Source Analysis.

   
Thursday, 27 October
  Four of You.
   
Friday, 28 October

Return to Top

Week 9  
Tuesday, 1 November
  Four of You.
   
Thursday, 3 November
  Three of you.

Return to Top  
Week 10  
Tuesday, 8 November
  Three of you.
   
Thursday, 10 November
  Two.

Return to Top

Week 11  
Tuesday, 15 November
  Three of you.
   
Thursday, 17 November
  Three.

Return to Top  
Week 12  
Tuesday, 22 November
  Two.
   
Thursday, 24 November
No Class
  Thanksgiving.

Return to Top

Week 13  
Tuesday, 1 December
  Before drafting your paper read pp. 185-221, 263-282 of The Craft of Research.
   
Thursday, 3 December
Draft Review
  Three of You. Before drafting your paper read pp. 185-221, 263-282 of The Craft of Research.

Return to Top

Week 14  
Tuesday, 8 December
Draft Review
  Three of You. Before drafting your paper read pp. 185-221, 263-282 of The Craft of Research.
   
Thursday, 10 December
Draft Review
  All come End of Cours evaluation. Two stay for Draft Review. Before drafting your paper read pp. 185-221, 263-282 of The Craft of Research.
   
Friday, 16 December
Final Draft Due Date

Return to J. Pablo Silva's Web Page
Email J. Pablo Silva
History Department Home Page
Grinnell College Home Page
Last Modified: August 30, 2011