J. Pablo Silva  
Fall Semester 2007
Tutorial 100-27. The Origins of Capitalism

Home

Syllabus

Week 2: September 10
Week 3: September 17
Week 4: September 24
Week 5: October 1
Week 6: October 8
Week 7: October 15
Week 8: October 29
Week 9: November 5
Week 10: November 12
Week 11: November 119
Week 12: November 26
Week 13: December 3
Week 14: December 10

Required Texts

Assignments

Grading

 

 

The Key Ingredients (weeks 1-2)
 
What is Academic Study All About?
Sunday, 23 August Read They Say / I Say, pp. ix-14.
 
What is Primitive Accumulation?
Thursday, 27 August Marx, Chaps. 26-29.
 
What is Primitive Accumulation?
Tuesday, 1 September Marx, Chaps. 30-33.
 
How can we summarize Marx?
Thursday, 3 September They Say / I Say, pp. 17-47.

Return to Top

Week 2
Paper Assignment: Which Ingredient Seems the Most Important?
Tuesday, 8 September Group 1 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 2 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Thursday, 10 September Group 3 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 4 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
 

Return to Top

The Spirit of Capitalism (weeks 3-4)
Week 3
Why does Religion seem to matter?
Tuesday, 15 September

Weber, 13-92.

 
Why Protestantism?
Thursday, 17 September Weber, 95-183.
Return to Top
Week 4  
 
Paper Assignment: Is it Culture or History?
Tuesday, 22 September Group 1 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 2 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Thursday, 24 September Group 3 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 4 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am

Return to Top  

A Neo-Classical Interpretation (weeks 5-6)
Week 5
Why do Costs matter?
Tuesday, 29 September

North & Thomas, 1-89.

 
When was the line crossed?
Thursday, 1 October North & Thomas, 91-158.

Return to Top

Week 6  
 
Paper Assignment: Can Economics Explain History?
Tuesday, 6 October Group 1 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 2 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Thursday, 8 October Group 3 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 4 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am

Return to Top


The Neo-Marxist Perspective (Weeks 7-9)
Week 7  
 
What did Brenner Think?
Tuesday, 13 October Brenner, Agrarian Class Structure.
Postan & Hatcher, Population & Class.
   
 
How did his Critics Respond?
Thursday, 15 October Croot & Parker, France & England

Return to Top

Fall Break, 20 October to 29 October

 

Week 8  
 
More Criticsm?
Tuesday, 27 October

Wunder, Class Conflict in Germany
Ladurie, A Reply
Bois, Against the Neo-Malthusian
Hilton, Crisis of Feudalism
Cooper, In Search of Agrarian Capitalism

   
 
How does Brenner Respond?
Thursday, 29 October The Agrarian Roots of European Capitalism

Return to Top

Week 9  
 
Some late additions to the Brenner Debate
Tuesday, 27 October

TBD.

   
 
Some late additions to the Brenner Debate
Thursday, 29 October TBD.
Return to Top

 

Week 10  
 
Paper Assignment: Class or Transaction Costs?
Tuesday, 3 November Group 1 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 2 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Thursday, 5 November Group 3 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 4 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Return to Top

 

Ideology & War (weeks 11-13)
Week 11  
Tuesday, 10 November
If not religion, what role ideas?
  Hirschman, 3-93.
   
Thursday, 12 November
Did Ideas matter?
  Hirschman, 93-135.

Return to Top

 

 

Week 12  
Tuesday, 17 November
Let's Take a Different View?
  Power & Plenty, 1-142.
   
Thursday, 19 November
How do war and trade relate?
  Power & Plenty, 143-226.

Return to Top

Week 13  
Tuesday, 24 November
What caused the industrial Revolution?
  Power & Plenty, 227-364.
   
Thursday, 26 November
Did Ideas matter?
  Power & Plenty, 365-425.

Return to Top

 

Week 14  
 
Paper Assignment: How would you explain the origins of capitalism?
Tuesday, 3 November Group 1 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 2 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Thursday, 5 November Group 3 Paper Tutorial, 8 to 9:30 am
Group 4 Paper Tutorial, 9:30 to 11 am
Return to J. Pablo Silva's Web Page
Email J. Pablo Silva
History Department Home Page
Grinnell College Home Page
Last Modified: August 21, 2009